top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrooke Bowlin

Easy and Tasty, Vegetarian Lo Mein Dinner

Today has been an off day for our household. I hate admitting it but we have all been having these off days...even the kids. Although they may not be able to share how they are feeling like we adults can they still have their blah days. Over the last two months of COVID-19 it seems we are having more of these days than normal. Trying to find things to keep the kids engaged and entertained while working from home and being productive hasn’t been the cats meow! My hats off to all the stay at home moms and teachers that have these kiddos 8 hours each day or longer! I love my kids but I also know myself...and I could not be a stay at home mom. Although It’s not easy I know these days and emotions are natural and need to run their course.


When I woke up this morning I noticed it was cool and overcast, again. The cloudy days, although great for my leafy green garden, hasn’t been great for everyone's mood. I was so excited coming out of the winter season and the winter blues. Excited for the sunny warm days, days around the pool with family, the gardens, and everything summer offers. After spending 1.5 weeks in Hawaii, where the weather is perfect, the beauty is everywhere you look, and the food was fantastic, I was excited to come home to the changing seasons to have a little paradise in our backyard. Just three quick months into the year, and right after returning, I knew this year was going to be anything but normal!!!


So back to today...after waking up, having my morning coffee, my son still was not up and out of his room. If you know him, you understand, this is not normal. He is a busy, energetic, daring four year old boy. Typically, he hears me come out of the room and is on my heels to start the day. Not thinking much of it I used the opportunity to enjoy a morning bath, get my make up done, and ready for a morning video conference. After one meeting ended he still hadn’t come out, by this time it is 9:30 AM, so I went to investigate. Not hearing him playing I opened the door to find him laying on the floor, awake, but not playing with toys or watching his tablet. I knew then this wasn’t going to be a day for the memory books. He was feeling like I have felt many times since all this crap has started...BLAH. After our ten year old woke the remainder of the day was pretty uneventful other than what is now the new days of trying to balance work while engaging kids.


Dinner time is something I enjoy. I love cooking for our family, getting everyone gathered around the table, and enjoying good food. I don’t know why but food seems to bring people together. And good tasting food can put a smile on even the most blah days. Wanting to salvage the remainder of the day I started thinking about what I could make for dinner. Something we have not tried before that the kids would love. Everyone in our family loves Chinese cuisine. When we eat out or have food delivered, which is not often, the #1 request from the littles is Chinese food. My mom has been raving about this vegetarian Lo Mein she has been making and it has been on my lists of meals to try. It did not disappoint. The flavor and textural profile was fantastic. My ultimate skeptic, my husband, had two full bowls. Even the kids liked it!!


The best part of this recipe is how easy it was! It took 2 pans, little time, and can be made with just about any vegetable...a great way to use up leftover vegetables. Starting the process I scoured the refrigerator for leftover vegetables. We didn’t have a lot left, just some carrots, a few mushrooms, onions and garlic! I also had some leftover, cooked, cauliflower and asparagus that I figured I would throw in to get the nutrients and use up some extra food. The last ingredient I was happy to get out of my garden...Napa cabbage. I would have loved to have all the vegetables from our garden but none of our main vegetables were ready, except, the cooler weather vegetables like napa cabbage!!!


It took years for me to understand the importance of mise en place when cooking. Mise en place is a french term mean putting everything in its place or to get everything prepped. If you spend the time to dice everything, get it separated, measured out, etc then its just a matter of dumping in the ingredients as you need them. That keeps you from running between cutting, stirring, measuring, and so on. I have to share another tip about making mise en place, and cooking, easier! Having sharp knives is a must!

Two Christmases ago we got a great Cuisinart knife set. Over the last two years we have used the crud out of the knives...to a point we couldn’t get them to sharpen a second time. The last few months I have been managing with these dull knives almost forgetting them important of a sharpie knife. When I mean dull I mean it would slice through a lime peel. I had to stab the lime then cut into the lime...not an ideal situation. Full knives tear instead of cut. As a treat to ourselves we finally broke down an ordered a knife set off amazon. After it arrived I realized just how dull my old knife set was. This new knife set cut through our limes like cutting through soft butter. And of course, like with any good shark knife, I cut myself first go around with the new knife 😂. I think it’s a ritual that you have to nick yourself whenever you use a new knife. I can’t say it enough...having sharp knives and the right tools does make cooking much more enjoyable.

If you are needing a new knife set or looking for your first knife set check out these two option. If you want something inexpensive the Cuisinart is a great choose and will last for awhile. My parents still use theirs daily and keep them sharp regularly.




If you are wanting to make the investment into a steel knife set complete with block and sharpener a set like this Dalstrong 8 Piece Knife set from Amazon may be what you are looking for .



And let me share a little secret...knife sets like the Cuisinart are great Christmas presents for Co-workers, kids, or the white elephant gift exchange when you don’t know what gift to bring 😜!! I saw this set go through a white elephant and everyone was fighting for it 😂😂!

**If you purchase through our link we make a small commission from amazon. This helps us maintain our website, keep fresh new blog content, recipes and more coming your way. 😛**

Once all the mise en place is done this recipe is so simple! Saute the veggies til your desired doneness. I like my carrots soft, and the cabbage wilted. While the veggies are sauteing, boil your water, cook your Spaghetti noodle...yes spaghetti noodles. Who does not have spaghetti noodles on hand. This is one component that makes this recipe so easy. No special noodle needed. While the spaghetti is cooking, make the sauce by combining all the ingredients and stirring them together. After the noodles have been cooked, drain them, toss the Veggies in, add the sauce, and stir it all together.

Here is another tip to make things easier. If you, like I did when I first started cooking, struggle with timing this recipe is forgiving. Veggies done sauteing before the noodles are cooked? That’s ok...turn the heat to low and let them sit. This will keep them warm without burning or overcooking. Just give them a good stir every few minutes. Noodles done cooking before the vegetables are ready?? That’s OK also. Drain them and return them to the pan. Toss with a sparing amount of olive oil...maybe a teaspoon...to keep them from sticking. They can sit until the vegetables are done and not become a goopy mess.


After everything has been cooked, mixed together, and dished up, add a small handful of microgreens. Adding the microgreens to your dish gives a fresh crunch to the meal whole making a beautiful presentation. Super easy while not sacrificing flavor! What else could you ask for!?!


*I always forget to take a picture of the cooking process. I’ll get better about that but here are some pictures of the final dish.**


Easy Vegetarian Lo Mein


Ingredients

  • Onion, 1 medium, diced

  • Carrot, 1.5 Cups, diced or julienne

  • Garlic, 4 cloves, minced

  • Ginger, 1 - 2 tsp grated ginger

  • Mushroom, 4-8 sliced

  • Red Bell Pepper, 1 diced

  • Napa Cabbage, 2 cups thinly sliced

  • Spaghetti Noodles, 1/2 box

  • Handful Microgreens

Sauce

  • Soy Sauce, 2 Tbsp

  • Garlic Chili Sauce, 1 Tbsp - or 1/2 Tbsp if you don’t like it spicy

  • Honey, 2 Tsp

  • Sesame Oil, 1Tsp

  • Olive Oil, 4 Tbsp, more as needed

Instructions

  1. Saute onions in 1 Tbsp of Olive Oil on medium heat, until lightly caramelized, add garlic and saute for a minute more.

  2. Add 1-2 Tbsp more of olive oil to pan, add carrots and sauté until they start to soften.

  3. While carrots are sauteing, start pan of salted water on high heat and bring to boil.

  4. Once carrots start to soften add remainder of veggies and sauté until vegetables are soft, and cabbage is wilted. Remove from heat or leave on low stirring every few minutes.

  5. After water starts to boil, when all veggies are sautéing, add spaghetti noodles to boiling salted water and cook until al dente. Drain. If needed toss with a little olive oil so noodles don’t stick

  6. While noodles and vegetables are cooking, in a small bowl, combine all ingredients for sauce and whisk.

  7. After vegetables are cooked, spaghetti is cooked and drained, mix everything, except microgreens, together in pan and allow to cook for another 1-2 minutes to meld flavors.

  8. Dish lo mein and add small handful of microgreens to the top.

  9. Enjoy!!










29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page